image

image

 
JOIN 800,000+ MEMBERS JOINJOIN Cancel
image






Adoption Forums®

Members List Photos Events Local Adoption Support Search Arcade Reviews Membership Upgrade
Welcome to the Forums. Register
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ. You may have to register before you can post or search: click here to proceed. To start viewing messages, select a forum below that you would like to view or click View All of Todays Posts.
Forum Categories
User Name
Password

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-03-2011, 08:59 PM
girlodiamonds girlodiamonds is offline
Junior Member
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 9
Total Points: 2,070.52
Donate
Female born 10/21/64 Falls Church, VA

I was born 10/21/64, 7:12pm, 6 lb 7 oz at Fairfax Hospital in Falls Church, VA. I had a weak left eye, which corrected itself. I was fostered from 10/26/64 thru 1/8/65 and my foster name was Jane Morgan.

My birth mother was born in 1942, she was 22 when I was born. She was 5'4", 125 lbs, black hair, hazel eyes, and medium complexion. She was a HS grad and worked as Clerk Typist for an agency. She had slight hay fever. Her mother was 5'3" with black hair and hazel eyes and was also a HS grad and worked as a receptionist and a sales clerk. Her father was 6', dark hair and blue eyes was a HS grad and was in a branch of the military. He was adopted. They lived in Fairfax County. My birth mother signed the permanent entrustment to place me up for adoption on 11/6/64.

My birth father was born in 1939, he was 25 when I was born. He was 6', with light brown hair and green eyes and a fair complexion. He was of English-French extraction. He had 2.5 yrs of college. He was very intelligent, but unstable, delightful, but not ready to settle down. His mother was 5'7" with brown hair, hazel eyes and a fair complexion. She was a HS grad and was a housewife. His father was 6' with brown hair, brown eyes and a medium complexion. He was a college graduate and held a highly responsible government position.
Reply With Quote
Adoption Reunion Information
Our reunion registry can aid your search for your birth family. Premium memberships available, offering benefits like:
  • Automatic searching
  • See who's viewed your profile
  • Higher message limit
  • Copy of Search & Reunion E-book ($19.95 value)
  • Just $9.99 / yr!
We'll Search for You!
Virginia
Click here to visit Adoption.com Registry
Don't miss out on finding your match at Adoption.com's Registry. For just $9.99 per year we will do the searching for you. Receive notifications automatically. Plus...find out who is searching for you!
Adoption.com Registry
 

  #2  
Old 03-09-2012, 06:20 PM
girlodiamonds girlodiamonds is offline
Junior Member
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 9
Total Points: 2,070.52
Donate
I have an information update. In the interest of keeping this short I am going to filter out all the emotions that are running through me right now. So please don’t mistake my factual account as devoid of emotion!!
My CI from Fairfax County Dept of Family Services called me today and said that she had located my birth mother and had just gotten off the phone with her. She said that Bmom is open to contact and did I want to know some information about her.
My Bmom started graying at an early age like I did. I am pear-shaped and so is she. She had to undergo a hysterectomy in 1970 because of cancer, so I was her only child. She has no siblings. She recently retired after a career as a computer analyst/programmer. She has been married twice. Her second husband has older kids so she is a step-mom. She went through menopause around 50 and doesn’t remember any particular problems or mood swings. She described herself as quiet, shy, not too adventurous and likes to stay at home. Her recent retirement has given her the time to start organizing her house and the items her now-deceased parents left to her.
My Bmom’s father (BGF) was in Army Intelligence for 20+ years, then after that was in intelligence in the private sector, and after retiring, became a draftsman. BGF had type-2 diabetes and died at 81 yrs of coronary artery disease.
My Bmom’s mother (BGM) would have been proud that I was a substitute teacher as she wanted my Bmom to be a teacher. MY BGM was diagnosed with breast cancer at 64 yrs old and died at 70 yrs old. My Bmom was only aware of one other family member with breast cancer, a cousin, but she is in remission. My BGM was diagnosed in 1958 with Meniere’s Disease (an inner ear disorder that affects balance and hearing) but didn’t let that slow her down as she enjoyed a long career in retail because she loved working around people.
My Bmom doesn’t remember any cancer on either side of her grandparents. Her GGM died at 75 and her GGF died in his early 80’s from diabetes. Her GGF was a farmer, a farrier (put shoes on horses), and a carpenter during the depression.
My Bmom is not aware of any emotional issues or depression or alcoholism with the exception of one relative who might drink a little too much.
My CI told me my Bmom has always wondered how I was, whether I was raised in a loving family and that she did what she did with my best interests in mind.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-30-2012, 02:08 PM
jking1118 jking1118 is offline
Adoptee Searching
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 57
Total Points: 15,130.51
Donate
girlodiamonds, please clear your PM inbox. I am trying to send you some information you asked me for.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-10-2012, 07:46 PM
girlodiamonds girlodiamonds is offline
Junior Member
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 9
Total Points: 2,070.52
Donate
I found my birth mom! I talked to her!!

I found her!!!

I got a call from the VA Social Services on 3/9/12 and my CI said she had found my birthmother. Since then we have been exchanging email letters with non-identifying information. Until today, the info was mostly useless, however, I got an email today with a tiny piece of information that made everything click.

I found my birth mother and was able to get her phone number. I called and left a message and she called me back! We talked for 2 1/2 hours about all sorts of things and finally had to hang up because her phone was beeping that the battery was dying!

I can't believe I actually talked to her! I am so....so... there are no words...no words...just feelings...and tears...and smiles!

I found out so much about her and my birth father and her family. Now I just need to find my birth father (have the name, just not a birthdate) and fill in the other 1/2 of my genetics!

Today is the first day of the rest of my life!
Reply With Quote
Reply

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Points Per Thread View: 1.00
Points Per Thread: 15.00
Points Per Reply: 5.00


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:09 AM.