Adoption.com Forums (http://forums.adoption.com/)
-   Pacific Island Adoption General Support (http://forums.adoption.com/pacific-island-adoption-general-support/)
-   -   Adoptees from Orphanage: Hospicio de San Jose (http://forums.adoption.com/pacific-island-adoption-general-support/116412-adoptees-orphanage-hospicio-de-san-jose.html)

lizaju2000 09-28-2003 06:23 PM

Adoptees from Orphanage: Hospicio de San Jose

Hi, my name is Liza, and I am an adoptee from the Hospicio de San Jose, Manila Philippines. I am in search for information on this particular orphanage. I was a resident there before being adopted by my American Family. I am now 30 and I plan to visit the Philippines for the first time since I left approximately 27 years ago. I am interested in hearing from anyone who may have been from the same orphanage or if anyone has any helpful information how I can get in touch with them if they still exist.

Thanks

Aussie James 10-30-2003 10:05 AM

Hi Liza,

This is the first time I've ever done one of these message forum thing's so hopefully you will read this. The reason why you your message caught my eye because I am also 30 yrs old and would you believe was also at the same orphanage 30 yrs ago. So maybe we were there at the same time. I was adopted also by an American family at the age of 2, but stayed in Manila till I was 5 and left to go and live in Australia.
Like you I also haven't been back and eventually would love to go back and see where I grew up.

As for finding my birth mother I think that is like finding a needle in a hay stack. In my case I was abandoned. My mother left me in a turn cradle in the wall of the orphanage on 23rd Decmber 1972.
So there is no records or any forms signed by her to indicate her where abouts. To be honest it doesn't really faze me because I have been pretty lucky and have been adopted by a great family.
I have two sisters from my adopted parents and a younger brother who is also from them so I'm the only one adopted.